California HVAC Technician License Requirements

Presented by:
Posted on
September 22nd, 2021
Next Steps

More From Our Partners

How do you know which trade school program is the right fit for you? Follow these steps for the best investment of time, money and focus.
Student in electronics trade school program
The GI Bill covers many short-term training options. Trade schools and community college programs are covered as well as certifications and apprenticeships.
Military service member returns home to wife and dog, training for veterans
Here’s what you need to know about diesel mechanic training, including how much it costs, how long it takes and the salary you can earn.
Diesel mechanic in vehicle inspection pit of a repair shop, example of diesel mechanic training
Johndarius Akins is a 31-year-old certified nursing assistant (CNA) who graduated from Woodruff Medical Training & Testing in Atlanta. Why did you get into this line of work? And did you always want to do
Johndarius Akins, certified nursing assistant

We found the following HVAC Technician requirements for California.

Please click on each license link for additional details.

Water Conditioning Contractor

All contractors/builders must be licensed by the Contractors State License Board in order to perform work in California.  The list of classifications and scope of work for each is available on the Board’s website at www.cslb.ca.gov.Water Conditioning Contractor, Class Code C-55: License Application Fee: $330. Initial License Fee: $200 for 2 years. Experience Requirement: At least 4 years journey level experience; must be at least 18 years of age. Exam Requirement: Business/law exam and trade exam. Exam Frequency: Computerized exams given daily at 8 sites throughout the state. Re-exam Fee: $60 Additional License Requirements: Fingerprinting, license bond(s), proof of workers' compensation coverage or exemption therefrom. Renewal Period: Active: $450 for 2 years; Inactive: $225 for 4 years. Comments: The Board's publication "Blueprint for Becoming a California Licensed Contractor", study guides and license applications can be found on the Contractors State License Board's Web site at www.cslb.ca.gov.

Requirements:

Exam: State exam required
Education: No education required
Continuing Education: No continuing education requirement
Criminal Record: No criminal record requirements

State Licensing Agency:

Department of Consumer Affairs
9821 Business Park Drive
Sacramento, CA 95827
(800) 321-2752

Air and Water Balancing Limited Specialty Contractor

All contractors/builders must be licensed by the Contractors State License Board in order to perform work in California.  The list of classifications and scope of work for each is available on the Board’s website at www.cslb.ca.gov.

Air and Water Balancing Limited Specialty Contractor, Class Code C-61/D-62. License Application Fee: $330. Initial License Fee: $200 for 2 years. Experience Requirement: At least 4 years journey level experience; must be at least 18 years of age. Exam Requirement: Business/law exam (no trade exam). Exam Frequency: Computerized exams given daily at 8 sites throughout the state. Re-exam Fee: $60 Additional License Requirements: Fingerprinting, license bond(s), proof of workers' compensation coverage or exemption therefrom. Renewal Period: Active: $450 for 2 years; Inactive: $225 for 4 years. Comments: The Board's publication "Blueprint for Becoming a California Licensed Contractor", study guides and license applications can be found on the Contractors State License Board's Web site at www.cslb.ca.gov.

Requirements:

Exam: State exam required
Education: No education required
Continuing Education: No continuing education requirement
Criminal Record: No criminal record requirements

State Licensing Agency:

Department of Consumer Affairs
9821 Business Park Drive
Sacramento, CA 95827
(800) 321-2752

Drilling, Blasting and Oil Field Work Limited Specialty Contractor

All contractors/builders must be licensed by the Contractors State License Board in order to perform work in California.  The list of classifications and scope of work for each is available on the Board’s website at www.cslb.ca.gov.

Drilling, Blasting and Oil Field Work Limited Specialty Contractor, Class Code C-61/D-09.  License Application Fee: $330. Initial License Fee: $200 for 2 years. Experience Requirement: At least 4 years journey level experience; must be at least 18 years of age. Exam Requirement: Business/law exam. (No trade exam.) Exam Frequency: Computerized exams given daily at 8 sites throughout the state. Re-exam Fee: $60 Additional License Requirements: Fingerprinting, license bond(s), proof of workers' compensation coverage or exemption therefrom. Renewal Period: Active: $450 for 2 years; Inactive: $225 for 4 years. Comments: The Board's publication "Blueprint for Becoming a California Licensed Contractor", study guides and license applications can be found on the Contractors State License Board's Web site at www.cslb.ca.gov.

Requirements:

Exam: State exam required
Education: No education required
Continuing Education: No continuing education requirement
Criminal Record: No criminal record requirements

State Licensing Agency:

Department of Consumer Affairs
9821 Business Park Drive
Sacramento, CA 95827
(800) 321-2752

Warm-Air Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning Contractor

All contractors/builders must be licensed by the Contractors State License Board in order to perform work in California.  The list of classifications and scope of work for each is available on the Board’s website at www.cslb.ca.gov.

Warm-Air Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning Contractor, Class Code C-20. License Application Fee: $330. Initial License Fee: $200 for 2 years. Experience Requirement: At least 4 years journey level experience; must be at least 18 years of age. Exam Requirement: Business/law exam and trade exam. Exam Frequency: Computerized exams given daily at 8 sites throughout the state. Re-exam Fee: $60 Additional License Requirements: Fingerprinting, license bond(s), proof of workers' compensation coverage or exemption therefrom. Renewal Period: Active: $450 for 2 years; Inactive: $225 for 4 years. Comments: The Board's publication "Blueprint for Becoming a California Licensed Contractor", study guides and license applications can be found on the Contractors State License Board's Web site at www.cslb.ca.gov.

Requirements:

Exam: State exam required
Education: No education required
Continuing Education: No continuing education requirement
Criminal Record: No criminal record requirements

State Licensing Agency:

Department of Consumer Affairs
9821 Business Park Drive
Sacramento, CA 95827
(800) 321-2752

Refrigeration Contractor

All contractors/builders must be licensed by the Contractors State License Board in order to perform work in California.  The list of classifications and scope of work for each is available on the Board’s website at www.cslb.ca.gov.

Refrigeration Contractor, Class Code C-38. License Application Fee: $330. Initial License Fee: $200 for 2 years. Experience Requirement: At least 4 years journey level experience; must be at least 18 years of age. Exam Requirement: Business/law exam and trade exam. Exam Frequency: Computerized exams given daily at 8 sites throughout the state. Re-exam Fee: $60 Additional License Requirements: Fingerprinting, license bond(s), proof of workers' compensation coverage or exemption therefrom. Renewal Period: Active: $450 for 2 years; Inactive: $225 for 4 years. Comments: The Board's publication "Blueprint for Becoming a California Licensed Contractor", study guides and license applications can be found on the Contractors State License Board's Web site at www.cslb.ca.gov. Authority: Business and Professions Code, Section 7000 et seq.; California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Section 810 et seq.

Requirements:

Exam: Undetermined
Education: Undetermined
Continuing Education: Undetermined
Criminal Record: No criminal record requirements

State Licensing Agency:

Department of Consumer Affairs
9821 Business Park Drive
Sacramento, CA 95827
(800) 321-2752

 

Please note this data is collected from multiple sources. SkillPointe has verified the information to the best of its ability, but makes no guarantees, warranties, or assurances of any kind, expressed or implied with respect to such information, including any information on linked sites and including, but not limited to, accuracy of the information or its completeness, timeliness, usefulness, adequacy, continued availability, or ownership. Please contact the state licensing board with any direct questions.

More From Our Partners

How do you know which trade school program is the right fit for you? Follow these steps for the best investment of time, money and focus.
Student in electronics trade school program
The GI Bill covers many short-term training options. Trade schools and community college programs are covered as well as certifications and apprenticeships.
Military service member returns home to wife and dog, training for veterans
Here’s what you need to know about diesel mechanic training, including how much it costs, how long it takes and the salary you can earn.
Diesel mechanic in vehicle inspection pit of a repair shop, example of diesel mechanic training
Johndarius Akins is a 31-year-old certified nursing assistant (CNA) who graduated from Woodruff Medical Training & Testing in Atlanta. Why did you get into this line of work? And did you always want to do
Johndarius Akins, certified nursing assistant