More From Our Partners
We found the following HVAC Technician requirements for Texas.
Please click on each license link for additional details.
Air conditioning and refrigeration contractors usually work with environmental air conditioning, maintaining indoor air at the proper temperature, humidity, cleanliness, and circulation for human comfort. They also work with commercial refrigeration and process cooling and heating, including large refrigeration systems and walk-ins. Persons who design, construct, maintain, service, repair, or modify any environmental air conditioning (which includes heating), commercial refrigeration, or process cooling or heating system must be licensed. Each license must be endorsed either for environmental air conditioning, or commercial refrigeration/process cooling and heating, or both. The Class A license entitles the licensee to perform air conditioning and refrigeration contracting, of each type for which the license is endorsed, on systems, products or equipment of any size or capacity. The Class B license entitles the licensee to perform air conditioning and refrigeration contracting, of each type for which the license is endorsed, on systems, products or equipment of not more than 25 tons cooling capacity or not more than 1.5 million BTU per hour output heating capacity. This requirement does not apply to those who work on portable or self-contained ductless air conditioning or heating units that have a cooling capacity of three tons or less, or a portable or self-contained heating unit that does not require the forced movement of air. Registered Technicians work under licensed contractors to help maintain air conditioning systems and have different licensing fees and obligations.
LICENSE REQUIREMENTS (Contractors)
- 18 years of age
- Specialized education and training
- Certificate of required insurance (Class A-$300,000; Class B-$100,000)
- By computer at testing center; separate examination for each endorsement
Restrictions on Licensing
- Dishonesty, fraud, gross negligence or abuse of license
- Conviction of a felony deemed adverse to the safety of person or property
- $115 License application
- $65 Annual license renewal
- $25 Revised or duplicate license
- $97 – 130 Late renewal
REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS (Technicians)
- 18 years of age
- Must be supervised by an air conditioning and refrigeration contractor
- Must complete a nationally recognized and administered certification examination
- Approximate fees: $20-35 license application, $20 license renewal, $20 revised or duplicate registration, $20-40 late renewal
- Forty-eight months of practical experience within the last 72 months;
- A degree in air conditioning engineering, refrigeration engineering or mechanical engineering equivalent to 24 months of practical experience, or combination of at least one year experience with technical education, at the rate of one month experience for each two months of education.
- Eight hours of continuing education to renew license, including one hour of instruction in Texas state laws and rules that regulate the conduct of the licensee.
Exam: State exam required
Education: Degree required
Continuing Education: Continuing education required
Criminal Record: Specific type of conviction prohibited
State Licensing Agency:
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
PO Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711